Valentine’s Day

Here is the music teacher’s dilemma for the holidays.  How can I incorporate QUALITY music instruction while still honoring the part of music that is simply for fun? 

I love Valentine’s Day and I find that the children at the younger elementary level really games and songs that celebrate this holiday.   There are a few little things I do starting at the beginning of February that can incorporate a little Valentine’s Day cheer to the class.  Not all of these ideas turn in to full-fledged lesson plans but rather I use them as warm-ups and energizers to get the class singing, playing, and having fun.

I found an old song in a second grade Music and You textbook series. 

The words are:

When you send a valentine, that’s the time for fun! Put it underneath the door, ring the bell and run run run run, ring the bell and run! 

I wasn’t too keen on the melody that was presented with the text, it didn’t suit my curriculum or my needs so I did what all music teachers do- changed it!

The new melody is:

Sol    mi       sol    mi  fa re re,  sol, fa, mi, re, do.         Sol, mi, sol, mi        fa, re, re,  sol, fa, mi, re, do, re

When you send a valentine, that’s the time for fun! Put it underneath the door, ring the bell and run run

Mi, Fa, sol, fa, mi, re, do.

run, ring the bell and run! 

Tune in to tomorrow’s post to see how I teach this song to meet the music objectives of my students!

DON”T FORGET TO ENTER THE GIVE AWAY!

To enter- Click the link above and follow the directions (or go to yesterday’s post). I’ll draw a number on Friday!

One response to “Valentine’s Day

  1. Pingback: Valentine’s Day | South Florida Orff

Leave a Reply

