Give-Away: Junior Jam Session, Laurie Zentz

Special thanks to Don from Memphis Musicraft for donating another FREEBIE for a Give Away!

Today’s freebie:

Junior Jam Session by Laurie Zentz.  Laurie came down for our October workshop. We had a FABULOUS time with her.  If you liked her material you will want to enter this give away. 

Junior Jam Session comes with a CD and Book.

To enter simply comment below answering this question, “Have you ever introduced your students to Jazz and Blues?” If so, “How did you do it?” If not, “How do you plan to introduce Jazz and Blues to your students?”

(I’m listening in- I have a hard time introducing my students to Jazz… got some ideas for me?) 🙂

I’ll keep this open until Friday when I will draw a winner using a random integer generator.  ALL may enter!

11 responses to “Give-Away: Junior Jam Session, Laurie Zentz

  1. I have struggled with this as well. Sometimes we lead into Jazz and Blues with our composer of the month activities. This past year I used the information and lessons that Scholastic sent out that went along with The Princess and the Frog movie. Students loved it!

  2. Yes, first I showed them a short video clip of a jazz performance (live band) then I asked questions to assess prior knowledge. The kids love to hum the walking bass while they “twist” in time.

  3. The Jazz Fly book and cd is a great way to introduce jazz. The students love it and helps develp scat singing. We do this after tracing the history of black music from slavery to jazz. “What a Wonderful World” (Louis Armstrong) and “Let’s Call the Whole Thing Off” (Armstrong and Fitzgerald) are great fun to sing.

  4. I usually play some examples first from my CD set from the Ken Burns series. I have a few songs that introduce scatting to the students I use. They love to scat!

  5. I emphasize the influence of spirituals and ragtime (Scott Joplin) on blues and jazz as well as the evolution and importance of American music. I have a class set of a Duke Ellington book which we cover on the annual African-American chain reading day. We engage in various listening activities, frequently with movement, emphasizing form and different styles.

  6. I start out an emphasis on Black History music with some historical background of slavery and how important music was to bring comfort and hope. We enjoy the well known great spirituals first and later we branch to Blues and Jazz. The Music Express Magazine has made it easy to find appropriate selections at my fingertips. The vocal & rhythmic ideas are endless…I also often use a “movement chart” as displayed by Artie Almeida at FEMEA. The students experience the beat through movement as they read and progress through the chart. I continually change the chart order and change the STYLE OF MUSIC which will include JAZZ/BLUES.

  7. The best way to introduce students to improvisation is to give them the oportunity to explore.
    I don’t have intruments to play in my school, therefore I take time for the students to improvise on the piano. At first we improvise on the black notes and I play a progression on F#.
    F# – D#m – B – C#

    The improvisation with those chord will always be beautiful. I varied the styles. Sometimes we play ballads, other times Bossa or Rock and Roll.
    The only direction I give the children is to play the black keys only.

  8. Hi! Jr Jam Session will take you from a few notes into playing a full-fledged 12-bar blues on your Orff instruments. Your kids can improvise on the blues scale. I didn’t get to cover that in our workshop in October… I wish I had! I perform “The Orffin’ Blues” every year – it’s a big hit. Good luck, everyone!

  9. *entering on behalf of Sharon Lloyd*

  10. I have done scat singing with the students with prerecorded backgrounds. Pat Bissell, a former colleague and orff teacher has a whole unit on the Yale University teachers institute. http://www.yale.edu/ynhti/curriculum/units/1997/5/97.05.03.x.html
    Check it out.

  11. I purchased the Lincoln Center’s “Jazz for Young People” curriculum with funds from an Arts for Learning Grant I was awarded several years ago. I found the program to be very successful and adaptable for many grade levels. It was $300 at the time, but I have used and reused it many times.

Leave a Reply

