Recorder Tip #2

Another tip I use with the recorder is used to develop self sufficiency. I want the students to learn how to figure out the answer to common questions by themselves.

After I’ve presented a note to the class I will put a small poster on the wall with the note on the staff and the fingering for that particular note. When students are showing me something different from what they are supposed to be showing me I can tell them to look at the chart.

I also have a chart that they can look at if they are experiencing “issues.”

1.  Are you blowing too hard?

2.  Is your finger covering the WHOLE HOLE?

I find that making them take ownership of fixing it themselves I save time and make them accountable for their learning.

What do you do to make students accountable?

 

Leave a Reply

