Advice and Sharing from a Member

Martha Feron, a member, posted a great comment on another post.  Martha was very generous and allowed me to repost it here on the site. 

I’ve received numerous emails from teachers seeking advice for ESE children and other children with special needs.  Martha used an idea from the Jim Solomon workshop and adapted it for her class.  I hope you can use her advice!

Martha writes,

I attended the Jim Solomon workshop and learned about the four chairs approach to teaching rhythmic patterns. I tried the strategies with my ESE students which includes autistic and intellectually disables students. Some of the students have difficulty speaking and writing, so I went completely physical with the lesson. After modeling different rhythm patterns, I had the students make rhythm patterns by directing their classmates to sit in the appropriate chairs. OMG they got it!! I felt so great that it made my weekend. I rewarded myself by going to the beach with my family. For those who are feeling reluctant to attend these Saturday workshops and paying the membership fee, IT IS SO WORTH IT and MORE.

Has anyone else used an idea from a workshop and modified it for special needs students? Please share! We’re all looking for great ideas when dealing with exceptional populations.

One response to “Advice and Sharing from a Member

  1. I was able to do the rotating drum circle with the little ones (Kinder and grade 1). They were so many and so small that I had them practice counting eight measures out loud while I played a rhythm and then they moved to the next chair while I counted eight beats. We practiced doing that last week and I added percussion instruments this week. Not only did they get it perfectly but they were able to tell the difference between full measures and beats. It worked!

Leave a Reply

