Rethinking Praise

Read this thought-provoking article from the Washington Post!

http://www.washingtonpost.com/local/education/in-schools-self-esteem-boosting-is-losing-favor-to-rigor-finer-tuned-praise/2012/01/11/gIQAXFnF1P_story.html

I know that in my professional career I’ve been through different stages of giving praise.  When I was student teaching, I noticed my cooperating teacher always saying everything was great. I followed suit.

Then I remember a mentor teacher talking about not giving praise unless it was earned, and also praising more than just a good job on something, rather, good thinking.

Children look to us for constant feedback so we must be careful about what we say and when we say it.

Let’s commit for the rest of the year to praise thinking, risk taking, creativity, and critical thinking rather than just a “good” performance.

What are your thoughts on praise?

Leave a Reply

